BABY LIPS BALM & BLUSH?

I’m pretty sure you’ve all heard of one of Maybelline’s most popular products:  The Baby Lips lip balms. So, after the huge success of this range, what could Maybelline release to top such cute lip balms? Maybelline New York Baby Lips Balm & BLUSH.

As its name says, it is a multipurpose balm that gives lips and cheeks a dewy tint. There are four different shades available -Innocent Peach, Flirty Pink, Shimmer Bronzer, and Juicy Rose, all of them with different scents.

I reached for the Innocent Peach one and when I first applied it on my lips, I thought that the formula was lovely and felt beautifully smooth on the lips. The colour pay off was very sheer, but still added a subtle hint of colour to the lips. It is lightly hydrating with a thin, balmy consistency that wears comfortably on lips. The “big ball”-similar to the cult EOS lip balm- makes application easy but obviously not precise.

IMG_5692

It isn’t the most moisturizing formula in the lip balm world but it provides a pretty hint of color and light hydration when you’re in a rush and can’t be bothered to reapply your lipstick.

However, when I tried it as a blush by applying it directly to the skin,  I wasn’t that happy… It felt too greasy for using on the cheeks as it was too sticky and glossy. I even buffed it in really well with a brush but it was quite hard to blend without messing my foundation up.

But I didn’t want to give up so tried a different way of applying it: Softly dab and pat the balm onto my cheeks instead of rubbing it on directly to my face. This way, my cheeks looked dewy but not sticky.

IMG_5694

 I love multi-purpose products but of you’re just looking for a balm (not a blush) and you don’t care about its color… this is not the product you’re looking for. Each balm is $3.99 and weights in at 0.16 oz in size, whereas EOS Lip Balm is $2.99 and holds 0.25 oz in size.

Overall, it’s a cute product and ideal for traveling. I also think it’d look really nice if you want to achieve a natural summer look but want your lips and cheeks to have a sheer subtle glow. But remember…unless you love REALLY glossy looking cheeks, don’t apply it directly to your skin!

Hope you’ve enjoyed reading this review, if you’ve tried this product or want to know more about it don’t forget to leave a comment down below and I’ll check it out!

One thought on “BABY LIPS BALM & BLUSH?

Leave a Reply

